AngelCloudIX


If all else fails… HAIR and MAKEUP
January 5, 2011, 8:35 pm
Filed under: Etc., January 2011

This past few years in college I have been struggling with my future plans. I thought when I left high school I was so certain that I would be a math major and become and actuary… unfornuately although I do have a very scientific and analytical mind, high school math is no where near to college math. The idea of doing math for the rest of my life became less and less desirable as I took the classes.

A re-evaluation was in order. Had to strip my being to it’s core. What am I really? I am a girl that likes to understand how things work, to create things, to analyze data, and work collectively with other people with similar interests – all with an artistic flair. Looking at myself this way has made it evident that I want to now pursue computer science and study urban design and architecture. I think these two fields allow creativity with the math base that I have.

It has been a struggle for me, however good to know I have things to fall back on…

The other day one of my friends had a really important date. She had called me in to be her stylist. When I reached her apartment I had a whole bag loaded of clothes, hair tools, and make-up and I was ready to tackle this mission. I do not have sisters or any really close girly girl friends so I have always had to figure out hair and make-up on my own. But I am an artist in my own way. Maybe one day I will show you guys some of my artwork. Hair and make-up is just another way for me to express my artistic side. So it is good to know if all else fails … I could make a living doing this:

So pretty!

On my travels back home my friend and I stopped by Times Square which was pretty crazy still from the thousands of people that have traveled in for the holidays. Driving in the city is so nerve racking for me but I can tell I am getting better – from my increased level of road rage. But in those moments where I had to stop for a red light or a person j-walking I could take in the beauty of it all. I love New York city more than I can express. I hope I can continue to live here once I graduate. Every little crevice has something to offer – and through the garbage and the graffiti we still shine so bright.

The crossroads of the world.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment